SEATTLE SEAHAWKS & GOD

Certainly Seattle’s attention, praise and adoration was turned towards their team the SEAHAWKS, today as an unexpected crowd of over 700,000 strong, surged, shoulder to shoulder into downtown Seattle, in below freezing weather to scream, wave their “12th man” Flags and cheer, but seeing this, aren’t we obliged to ask – is our local team “worshipped”?   And if they are, is it wrong, is it any more than any other sports team?    Is Seattle any different?

What I’m asking I guess, is ‘what defines worship’?   And is being so die-hard a “fan,” so wrong?

Wikipedia defines “worship,” when expressed as a noun as: the feeling or expression of reverence and adoration for a deity; when used as a verb: show reverence and adoration for (a deity); honor with religious rites

The same site defines “idol” as: An idol is an image or other material object representing a deity to which religious worship is addressed or any person or thing regarded with admiration, adoration, or devotion. 

Many are rabid fans, so how do we judge judge … or are we suppose to?   The question is rather: “where are our hearts?”   Are we out of line when we allow our families to get so caught in the games?

Teams unite local fans, even a whole region, but they’re not seen as a deity, as nations have done over the eons, so my take on it … (I know I’m still in the minority to be so concerned), but I think it’s a question of balance.   Again, my take on it is, long as one is still sincerely seeking to know God and obey, while keeping Him first, … then GO HAWKS!

About josiahe

Watching closely, working to understand all I may, in this "Age of Information", even from my limited view, I can see much of what's going on ..... and I oft see it's going to impact all of us which is why I share it. My focus is to expose evil, and to serve my Lord and savior Jesus in whatever way He shows me. If one waits long enough, better writers will come along and comment; it's just that I have so little patience with the evil that lurks among us and I've wasted so much time and now, there is so little left! WELCOME!
This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

